The Mid-Western Region was a division of Nigeria from 1963 to 1991.  It was renamed Bendel state in 1976.  This was subdivided into the Delta and Edo states in 1991

It was formed in June 1963 from the Benin and Delta provinces of the Western Region, and its capital was Benin City. It was designated as a province in 1966.  In 1967 when the other provinces were split up into several states, it remained territorially intact and become a state.

During the Nigerian Civil War, the Biafran forces invaded the new Mid-Western state, en route to Lagos, in an attempt to force a quick end to the war. While under Biafran occupation, the state was declared as the "Republic of Benin" as Nigerian forces were about to retake the region. The republic collapsed a day after the declaration when Nigerian troops overtook Benin City