The Mid Western Region was an administrative division of Nigeria.  It was formed in June 1963 from the Benin and Delta provinces of the Western Region, and its capital was Benin City. It was re-named a province in 1966, and in 1967 when the other provinces were split up into several states, it remained territorially intact and became Mid Western State.

In 1976 the state was renamed Bendel, which was later subdivided into Delta and Edo in 1991.